top of page

Power of Christmas

In everything that we have done during the Nativity Fast, and everything we will do after the Nativity until Theophany, and hopefully every day of our lives, is to FOCUS ON CHRIST! That is what is so powerful about this time of year. We are given eternal life because Christ was born of the Virgin Mary.

In the last episode of the Homemaking Missionary, we spoke about the Power of Love. John 3:16 tells us:

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Begotten Son, so that all who believes in Him would not perish, but have eternal life.”

This gift that God gave to us happens in just a few days, on the day we call the Nativity of Christ.

When I was younger, although I was immersed in the Church life, I never actually experienced a Christmas morning Liturgy. In America, most Orthodox Churches have a Vesperal Liturgy on Christmas Eve night. It’s a small tradition that most Churches do because on Christmas Day, may family’s are traveling to meet their distant relatives.


So that brings me back to my first Christmas morning Liturgy, here in Albania in 2013. After experiencing Christmas morning Liturgies for  5 years, I’m convinced it is the best way to start begin the Birthday of Christ.

I would like to share with you how our family celebrates the Nativity of Christ.



Now, as I said, the first thing we do to celebrate the Birth of Christ is to go to Liturgy. For most Liturgies we try to arrive during Orthros, but on Christmas I always try to arrive when Orthros begins. It is not easy to do this, to be honest. But, to hear the full Orthros, and especially all of the hymns, make the day so special.

Recently, I’ve noticed getting both my son and myself ready and to Church for Orthros has become much more difficult. It’s a struggle that we face. But, on Christmas Day, I will try very hard to be well prepared, more than normal, to get to Church when Orthros starts.

I will try to plan: what do I need to do to make sure that we have as little to do as possible on Christmas morning? The night before I will make sure that our bags have all the necessary items in them. Some books about the Nativity of Christ, an icon of the Nativity, some water, and a snack for after Liturgy. I’m also going to remember to make some Prosphora to offer to the Church. My goal is to have all of those things ready the night before, so that we have to do only one thing: get myself and my son dressed and out of the door.

I also have a plan to set out the outfits we will wear to Church. On every Liturgy day, we try to dress nicely. But, especially on Christmas we try and dress a little more fancy. I’m hopeful that Moses, who likes sweatpants and t-shirts, will wear a nice shirt and a tie.

Something else I try to bring to Church is a bag with some food (crackers, cookies, candies) and after Liturgy we try to make sure to offer them to the poor people outside of the Church.


 

While we are on the topic of giving to those who do not have enough, I have a challenge for you. I want to encourage you to take these next four days, and look through your house. I want you to see if you have anything that you do not need anymore. Gather up these items and see if the Orthodox Church in your city has an office or a place to donate these things. Personally, I have made it a goal for our family to take one thing everyday of the Nativity Fast, and put it in a bag for donation.

With donations, we have to remember, it is not the quantity of the items we are donating, but the thought we have to give to those who are less fortunate. Some things we have donated this nativity fast are: clothes from myself, my husband, and my son; food; shoes; kitchen items; and icons. I heard another tradition, that when you think of the people you need to purchase a gift for, add Christ; this can be through giving to the Church, the Soup Kitchen, etc.

In everything that we have done during the Nativity Fast, and everything we will do after the Nativity until Theophany, and hopefully every day of our lives, is to FOCUS ON CHRIST! That is what is so powerful about this time of year. We are given eternal life because Christ was born of the Virgin Mary.



Now I would like to share with you how we prepare our home for Christ’s birth. A great symbol of the Birth of Christ is the Christmas tree. I remember when Pres. Faith Veronis taught me that the Christmas tree is a Christian tradition. In 512 Emperor Athanasios I built a Church at the Monastery of St. Gabriel in Syria. He offered two brass trees which were placed on the solea, on either side of the Royal Gates. On the leaves of the trees were places for lights, that is candles, to be lit. Each tree had 180 lamps and 50 silver chains from top to bottom. On the tree there also were: objects of gold, silver, and copper; red eggs; animals; crosses; wreaths; bells; and disks.

It is also said, for the younger children to understand, that the Christmas tree points up towards Heaven. It points us to the place where Christ came from. It is traditional to have star at the top of your tree representing Christ as the light of the world and reminding us of the star that led the wisemen to Christ.



Now for 7 out of the 8 years that my husband and I have been married, we did not buy or own a Christmas tree. When we first got married, I had a very small 12 inch Christmas tree from when I was younger that I brought to our new shared apartment. When we came to Albania, we had plants that looked like trees.

We finally saved up enough money to buy a fake Christmas tree last year. Thank God I have a husband who is very money conscious and good at making a budget. We were able to fit into our budget last year a fake Christmas tree, but we were not able to get any lights or other decorations.



So each year now we will add small things to our Christmas tree. This year, after having the tree for one year, we were able to save up enough money to buy some lights for the tree. Next year, maybe we will save up enough money for a nice star to put on the top. But to be honest, Moses really likes the homemade one he made last year!

We try to teach Moses that the Christmas tree is not only an decoration in the house to look beautiful, or to spend a lot of money on it, but rather it is a symbol to remember what we celebrate this time of year. The birth of Christ and how He was born to save us!

Now I would like to share with you a family tradition I’ve been doing since I was a little girl. On Christmas Day, we make a birthday cake for Christ! Now that we have a son, it’s so much fun to bake with him and to decorate the birthday cake. Moses especially enjoys singing Happy Birthday to Christ. It is a way for all children to understand and connect that Christ was born as a person on Earth. He is not someone we just see in icons or think is a magical thing. He was a person. Born of a virgin woman. He is the Christ child! I encourage you to also celebrate His birth in this way. If you are unable to have a cake for Christ, enjoy the tradition of singing Happy Birthday to Him!



While we are on the topic of baking, which, if you know me, you know that I love baking and cooking! I try and use this skill during Christmas to combine it with something else that I love; giving our friends and families small gifts. Giving something small to friends is definitely one of the ways that I show my love. This is also something that my son has adapted as well. Now, we are unable to give a gift to everyone we know, we do not have enough money for that. But something I’ve done for about 10 years now, and that my mom and my mother in law do as well, was to bake some cookies and offer them to friends for Christmas.

I like to involve Moses in this process, to help him learn, and to teach him that giving to people is an important part of being a good person. Not only do I involve him in the baking process of the cookies, but I also encourage him to help draw a picture on the cards that we will give to our friends here in Albania.



In most cultures gift giving is unfortunately a major focus in the Nativity of Christ. While giving gifts is not a bad thing, society has a way of making us want to only focus on this aspect. It gets out of hand and becomes harmful. Being selfish and declaring what we want for Christmas and the New Year is this and this and this. We do not have to get rid of this aspect of gift giving, but I want to teach my son how we can give gifts in a Christian mindset and to stay on a budget.

In our family we realize it is not how much a gift costs, but the thought that goes behind the gift itself. Personally, I know that I would love a homemade gift from my family over an expensive gift.

This year a homemade gift I made with my mother in law, were these food wraps made out of beeswax. Instead of using the plastic wrap for food, we will use these new wraps that can be washed and used again and again.


 

Above all of these preparations, something that helps Moses understand the Nativity of Christ is a Nativity set. We have one that is very kid friendly, from Pockets of Learning. (To be honest, I love that they replace any lost pieces-great with a toddler!)

You can also use an icon or a picture that can be colored.


After just a few explanations of the different people, animals, and angels that took part in the story of the Nativity of Christ, Moses can now tell the story himself. He takes Mary and Joseph, has them go on a big mountainous journey, over kitchen chairs and the couch, to the town of Bethlehem. But no one had any room for them to stay! So they went to a cave, where Christ was born. But the angels were so bright in the sky and told the shepherd to go and see the new Baby that was born. So they went, with their animals and thought he was so cute! Moses’ favorite part of the story is the Wise Men who journeyed from afar to come and bring Christ gifts of: gold, frankincense, and myrrh.



Do not hesitate to look online for a good video about the Nativity of Christ. This is something we do sometimes. In English, there is a great children’s series called the “Beginner’s Bible.” Sometimes they oversimplify or embellish stories, but overall, the message is very clear and of course very Christian. There is also another video from the Orthodox Church in America called “Orthodox Pebbles.” This allows you to tell the story in your own words as the icons appear during the video. Both of those can be found on You Tube.


 

One of the last things we like to do to celebrate the Birthday of Christ, is to play and sing Christmas songs. Singing is a very fun way to celebrate the Birthday of Christ. While it is good to sing winter songs, like Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer, it is also good to sing Christian songs: Away in a Manger, O Come Emanuel, to name a few.


 

I want to challenge you to learn and sing the Troparion for the Nativity of Christ.

It is:

Your Nativity, O Christ our God, Has shone to the world the Light of wisdom! For by it, those who worshipped the stars, Were taught by a Star to adore You, The Sun of Righteousness, And to know You, the Orient from on High. O Lord, glory to You!


Practice singing this hymn, not only at prayer times, but also before meals and at any time of the day.

And remember when you greet someone between the 25th December until the 5th January, you can say “Christ is born!” And the reply is: “Glorify Him!”

Let me conclude with these beautiful words which incorporate a hymn we hear during Church, but includes who should be “lifted up.”


Christ is born, glorify Him. Christ is from heaven, receive Him.  Christ is on earth, be lifted up; Be lifted up, all you that have been humbled Be lifted up, all you that have fallen Be lifted up, all you that are despised Be lifted up, all you that have despaired Be lifted up, all you that have been neglectful Be lifted up, all you that are indolent Be lifted up, all you that are wounded by the devil Be lifted up, all you that are wounded by your own passions Be lifted up, all you that are wounded by the world Receive power and might receive courage for Christ the Saviour is born for us. Sing to the Lord, all the earth and praise Him with joy all people: For He has been glorified.




May you have a blessed Nativity of Christ. May you always have in the forefront of your mind and in your heart the reality that: Today the whole creation rejoices and is jubilant, For Christ is born of the Virgin.




May your Christmas & New Year be filled with love, patience, joy, and of course may your family be filled with the Light of Christ!



bottom of page